Home > Uncategorized > Another Milestone

Another Milestone

My last post was about my birthday. Today is another milestone. Five years ago, I woke up from a night of watching horror movies (we had a Friday the 13th in July 2007, too) and went to an adoption event at my local PetSmart. “Just to look.”

I came home with a bag of food, a wire dog crate, and this:

That’s Skylar on her first night with me, 7/14/2007.

She was one of a small litter of four pups who had been born in the Kalamazoo-area ASPCA ten weeks earlier to an uncommonly gentle street dog, a Shiba Inu who the ASPCA had named Sheila.  At the store that day, Sheila was chilling out in the cordoned off area with her babies. One was totally brown; the other three had Skylar’s coloring. Skylar (whom the ASPCA had named Jasmine—yeah, I changed it) was the shy one, the one who was curled up in the corner, hanging back from her yipping, exciting siblings. I knew that was my girl.

I hung around for a long time, playing with her, carrying her around a bit. The ASPCA rep seemed rightfully nervous at my “I’ll take her!” impulsiveness. I was quick to defend my suitability as a dog caretaker: my family had dogs when I was kid. I had a steady job and my own apartment, which allowed pets with just a small monthly deposit. Also, I had been make serious plans to get a dog for a few months.

I was just jumping the gun on that day. I was moving to a new apartment in three weeks; I had to be out of town for a wedding in seven days. (P.S. Everybody remember to wish my cousin and her husband a Happy 5th Anniversary next weekend.) I spent a lot of time trying to determine what I was going to do with her when I went out of town. I even called my most dog-loving friend (who was also my boss) to find out if she would be available to dog-sit. She came right over to the store with her Australian Shepherd and we played with the puppy. My friend couldn’t commit to the weekend, but I decided it didn’t matter. I made one of the few rash decisions of my life and just brought Skylar home.

For the past five years, she has been consistently one of the best things in my life.

Skylar today (literally, I took these today):

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Leanne
    July 25, 2012 at 8:32 am

    I like that top photo. She looks like a guard dog with a British accent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

