Home > Movies, TV > Golden Globes Burnout and Oscar Plans

Golden Globes Burnout and Oscar Plans

January 29, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Usually I do write-ups of awards shows that I’ve watched–and you may have noticed that I skipped the Golden Globes this year.  I actually found the show to be rather disappointing, and I was left with very little to say.  I’ve spent some time figuring out why I was disappointed and put some plans in place to make sure it doesn’t happen during the Oscars.  Because THEY’RE THE OSCARS.

I don’t really have anything to say about Ricky Gervais as host of the Globes; I’m of the opinion that he bombed, not because what he said was too offensive or objectively not funny (a lot of it was very funny), but just because the audience did not appreciate his take on the festivities.  They were so stone-faced and unamused.  I want to watch a good time, a party.  Not some big, awkward mess.

The show might have been saved if I cared about any of the winners, but, as it happened, I kind of didn’t.  The TV categories were a complete sweep of stuff I couldn’t relate to–all the winners were either shows I have no access to (HBO’s Boardwalk Empire, Showtime’s The Big C, FX’s Sons of Anarchy) or shows I tried and dismissed, finding them not to my taste (Glee, The Big Bang Theory).  My favorite comedies–Community and Parks and Recreation–continue to be snubbed for nominations, and perennial favorites Mad Men, Breaking Bad and 30 Rock were undecorated for the entirety of the evening.

But how about movies?  As usual I haven’t seen the majority of the nominated films.  Another way of putting it would be to say that of the movies you could call Awards Show Bait I have seen two: Inception and Toy Story 3.  Enjoyable films both, but poor coverage overall.

So, taking advantage of the fact that Oscar campaigns push movies back into theaters that they had already left (welcome back, 127 Hours and The Social Network!), and that the other nominees will be staying put for the time being, I have established my Oscar Plan: am going to be working towards seeing all the movies with major nominations (Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor/Actress, and Supporting Actor/Actress) before Oscar time.  Hopefully, when I have seen all these movies, I will feel more engaged in the competition aspect of the show.

Today I’m seeing two: The King’s Speech and whichever of them is playing next when The King’s Speech ends.  I’ll be keeping track of my progress on my Movie Challenges page!  (For those of you who don’t follow this kind of thing obsessively, here are the complete nominations on one page.)

(For an even more insane Oscar challenge, let me recommend Sarah Bunting’s Oscars 2011 Death Race.  Every year she pledges to see all nominated films, including the randos that pop up in Best Original Song and Best Short-Form Documentary.  For my part, I think I can enjoy the show without seeing The Wolfman (Best Makeup) or Tron: Legacy (Sound Editing).)

It’s Oscar season, WOO!  Almost makes winter worth it.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

