Home > Music > My Latest Indie Rock Loves

My Latest Indie Rock Loves

September 26, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m obsessed with new music lately.

I love The Walkmen–I have two of their albums already–but they’ve got a new one, Lisbon that just came out that’s getting killer reviews.  I put myself on the library waitlist for it, but I’ve got like forty-seven people in front of me.  Maybe I just need to buckle down and buy it.  You know, quit being poor long enough to put a couple bucks back into the music industry?  (That probably won’t happen.)

Here are The Walkmen taking part in the A.V. Club’s Undercover series, doing a cover version of “Driver 8,” a track from REM’s mid-80s golden period.

Get ready to hear me pout: last year they played Cleveland, but I didn’t go because I didn’t care that much about them.  This year they’re not getting any closer than Detroit.  I don’t want to go to Detroit.

I also love The National.  They just put out High Violet, and I heard great things about it, so I picked it up.  The first time I listened to it I wasn’t that taken.  Since then it’s not just growing on me, it’s growing over me like carnivorous vines.  (I would have used a more positive simile, but it’s a really dark album.)

Case in point: “Conversation 16,” which is either a break-up song or a zombie anthem.  Or both.  And which also rocks.

  1. Uncle Dan
    September 27, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Some others you may like:
    Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
    Band of Horses – Infinite Arms and Cease to Begin
    Broken Bells
    Fleet Foxes
    Iron & Wine
    Matt Pond PA
    Phoenix – Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix
    She & Him
    Sufjan Stevens – Both the Michigan and Illinois albums

  2. September 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Thanks for the recs. I’m already on board with Phoenix. (Discovered them via Sofia Coppola movies–she has a baby with the lead singer so his music tends to pop up on her soundtracks.) I’ve also got Illinois, but She & Him is out because She is Zooey Deschanel, and gag.

    I’m not sure about Arcade Fire. If I listen to them, that would mean I’ve gone full hipster.

  3. September 27, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Oh my gosh – seriously, Arcade Fire is awesome – love love love them. Also, loving the National! My favorite song is Slow Show off of Boxer I think. Also love Abel, Secret Meeting, All the Wine and Mr. November off Alligator. It took a while for their music to grow on me but now I can’t get enough. And their lead singer has amazing stage presence.

  4. September 28, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    OK, OK, I’ll try Arcade Fire!

  5. Stella M.
    October 16, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Conversation 16 does rock. All The National’s songs are great, actually.
    I also like The Strokes. So good!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

