Home > TV > Last night’s Mad Men

Last night’s Mad Men

If Mad Men ever needs a spin-off, may I suggest The Follies of Don and Lane?  How hilarious were they last night, getting drunk and going to see Godzilla?

Also, for a minute there, I think I may have liked Joan’s awful rapist husband.  What’s that about?

  1. Leanne
    August 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Oh, I agree, Lane and Don were hilarious. They were truly enjoying themselves–those comments in the theatre, drinking out of that flask. There are so many subtle one-liners, so easy to miss, I have to turn on closed captioning because my family, not appreciating the reverence, keep TALKING to me. I loved the last scene. Joan really runs the place.

  2. August 9, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Yes yes yes to both comments! And I was shocked when Lane actually knew what was going on the next morning. He’s sharper than I gave him credit for.

    And I almost liked Dr. Rapist myself. When he was being nice to her at the end, I was reminding myself of last season and my hopes that he would get blown up in Vietnam.

  3. Joe
    August 9, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Don and Lane should tour the country in a production of “The Odd Couple” — after Neil Simon writes it a little later in 1965, that is…

  4. Leanne
    August 18, 2010 at 8:12 am

    I’ve been hoping for some comments about this week’s episode. I’ve read numerous blog posts–Mad Men is being analyzed like All Quiet on the Western Front or something–and I love reading about it. I loved Peggy & Pete’s head banging, Peggy peeking over the cubicle, “did you get the pears?”,Don’s reaction to the focus group. And I don’t care what it means.

  5. August 18, 2010 at 9:24 am

    I try not to write about Mad Men every week; I don’t want to burn myself out on it. On Sundays I usually watch it at 10 and then again at 11, after all. And then once more on DVR during the week.

    My thoughts on this week’s episode: as soon as that girl checked out Peggy in the elevator, I knew she was going to hit on her, and I was so worried that Peggy was going to get all 60s about it. Instead she was all blase, like “no thanks!” I was so proud of her. The focus group was DE-pressing. I think I was Dottie the secretary in another life.

    But I think my favorite moment in the episode was when Don came home and started typing an apology letter to Allison. “I’m really sorry, but right now my life is very–” and he stops. What a prosaic, average sentence! Can you even imagine those words coming out of Don’s mouth? I think that’s why he quit writing, because he realized that he didn’t have any words for his behavior that weren’t totally banal and he refuses to admit that anything about him is ordinary.

    Also, “DID YOU GET THE PEARS?” “We’ll talk about it INSIDE.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

