Home > Uncategorized > In Appreciation Of…The Weekend

In Appreciation Of…The Weekend

It’s time to mention that I have gone back to work!  The job is only temporary, so I’m not ready to call myself officially “employed” yet, but I do have somewhere to go now, Monday through Friday, for a full day’s shift and for the next few months.  Last week was my first week back.

There is nothing like going back to work to make one appreciate a weekend!  I had something like 70 Saturdays in a row during my unemployment: waking up whenever I wanted to, lingering over breakfast, taking mid-afternoon naps.  I was quite ready to be done with it, mostly because our society is built on this fundamental element called money, but also because it can be really difficult to fill all those long days with chores and little projects.

Boy, is it a different story from the other side.  The alarm goes off at the crack of dawn (or the crack of seven, whatever), I drive across town and sit at a computer for eight hours.  When I get home, I have to walk the poor dog who’s been cooped up all day, and make myself dinner.  I don’t have much evening left after that, and not much energy left to expend on doing anything in that time.

I don’t write all of this to make anyone feel sorry for me, obviously.  My job is not hard, working is normal (almost everyone does it) and I’m grateful to have found anyone willing to employ me during an economic crisis.  All I’m saying is that when I got up yesterday and today, my first real weekend in a week, it felt very sweet.  Two days of relaxation felt like a gift.  Such is human nature.

While I’m on the subject of appreciation, here’s another thing I’m thankful for: Five Guys Burgers and Fries.  Went there for dinner on Friday night and OH MY GOD SO GOOD.

  1. Mom
    July 18, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    YEA!! Congrats on your first week. Yes weekends are great and oh so short. Next time I visit, definitely Five Guys Burgers and Fries! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

