Home > Wonders of the Internet > My Writing Contains Multitudes

My Writing Contains Multitudes

Got some time to waste on the internet?  An unpublished novella or poem?  How about an e-mail whose witty and lucid composition made you especially proud of yourself?  Then go to I Write Like, a web page which supposedly uses an algorithm to compare your writing to a database of well-known authors.

You know I had to try this.  Like, a bunch of times.  Here are my results.

A passage from this review of The X-Files was pegged as being Stephen King-esque.  My review of Adventureland is in the style of Charles Dickens.  A paragraph about unemployment-related frustration is reminiscent of David Foster Wallace.

And then it got better!  I submitted this blog entry about Skylar, and it came back, bafflingly, as Leo Tolstoy.  Does that make Skylar my own personal Anna Karenina?  I’ve read that book, and it was a long time ago, but I can say with certainty that there are no scenes where Anna pees on something.

Tolstoy appreciates Skylar.

Time to try my academic writing!  A passage from a paper on Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility came back as…Jane Austen.  Hmmm.  Perhaps I was quoting too much.

And then a passage from a paper on Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye came back as Mary Shelley.  Well…despite their differences in culture, region, era, and subject matter, they’re both Gothic, I guess.

Yeah, that’s the one I’m keeping.

I write like
Mary Shelley

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Have some fun and try your own words!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

